Leave a comment

Test of Google Apps at Swarthmore

Campus Technology has a post about Swarthmore doing a pilot study to see if they should switch to Google Apps (particularly Gmail). I think this is a great idea for several universities to look into. Around here I always see gmail and Google calendar open on several laptops. From what I hear and what I’ve experienced myself the Google email and calendar are easier to use than the University email system. In addition to ease of use, there are several other features the Google Suite offers like Google Docs, Talk, and Notebook. I don’t think any College or University should jump right into using the Google system without first doing a pilot study but I think the Google Apps have a lot to offer students and if they are already forwarding their email to Gmail and using Google Calendar the switch is worth considering.

Leave a Reply

